FFWD: Marie Helene’s Apple Cake

This is Marie Helene’s Apple Cake from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table.

I made 1/2 a recipe and baked in a 7 inch pan with removable bottom. I used 3 different kinds of apples (Jonagold , Honeycrisp, and Golden Delicious.) I know for 1/2 a recipe I should have used only 2 of them but I want to get a lot of variety in the mix.

This cake is super easy to make, probably one of the easiest cakes I’ve made. I don’t even have to crank on the KA mixer and that’s saying a lot.

Tasting impressions:
Hubby gave it a thumbs up and said it’s really good. As for me, on the day of baking, I thought the cake was good but not special. The next day, the taste improves and I am changing my verdict. It is really good. I love that there are more apples than dough in there. The dark rum definitely adds a dimension to the taste. This one will be repeated for sure.

One Response to FFWD: Marie Helene’s Apple Cake

  1. Monica says:

    Wow you got the jump on this eh? It looks yummy… mine is cooling off and Tom is dying to dig in. We are stopping for more apples tonight, so I can make ANOTHER one so I can take it to work tomorrow for the pot luck we are having.. but, the smells coming from it are glorious.

Leave a comment